The Joys of Working in a Bookshop – #26

Most tourists, international students and other non-Dutch people usually point out to me, after I start speaking Dutch to them, that they don’t understand me. Could please speak English? Yes, of course. No problem. I spent four and a half years working towards a degree to prove the fact that I know how to speak English.

Some, however, just say: “Hm?” and look at me as though they expect me to be able to magically divine that they don’t speak Dutch. This mostly results in a conversation where I repeat my question several times, until it becomes clear to me that no, they didn’t just not hear me correctly, they didn’t understand me at all.

Me: “Is het een cadeautje?”
Customer: *looks at me weirdly* “Hm?”
Me: “Is het een cadeautje?”
Customer: *tilts head slightly, funny look increases*
Me: “Oh. Is it a gift?”
Customer: “No.”

Followed by no explanation whatsoever.

THIS COULD BE SO MUCH EASIER AND LESS TIME-CONSUMING.

People are weird.

