The Joys of Working in a Bookshop – #20

Guy comes in, about my age, asking if I would please gift wrap this nice wooden box he’s bought somewhere else. Strange request, but it happens sometimes, and I almost never refuse if there’s enough time, because we place high value on customer service.

So I’m gift wrapping this box, and he starts to comment on how I seem to be doing it wrong and how I’m supposed to be doing it.

Now, I gift wrap practically everything. I gift wrap the book vouchers. Sometimes I even gift wrap a postcard. I know how to gift wrap (rectangular things, ahem). That’s not the point.

Hello, I’m doing you a favour…? Where does he get the temerity to complain? If he wants it gift wrapped some other way, perhaps he should buy a roll of paper and do it himself. Bloody hell.

